Wright Mountain

My husband and I set a goal to hike all 46 high peaks in the Adirondacks. I suggested we start with the “easy” hikes and work our way up, but after hiking Wright over the weekend, I’m not sure that’s the best method.

We hiked Cascade last summer which is supposed to be the easiest high peak and let me tell you, I struggled. I work out regularly and I had a hard time going up the mountain. Cascade was extremely steep the entire way up and there were times I thought I was having an asthma attack. We stopped a lot to catch our breath and eat some Cliff Bars. It was definitely worth it in the end with the views, but my point is, what is considered “easy” doesn’t always mean that is true.

IMG_1604
Kyle and I at the top of Cascade Summer 2014

Wright mountain is also considered one of the easier high peaks, although harder than Cascade. These assumptions are based off of how high the mountains are, how long (mileage roundtrip), and the terrain. I have to say, Wright was definitely a challenge at the end, but for most of the hike I thought it was easier than Cascade. I was definitely out of breath and it was more like rock climbing up a mountain since there were soooo many rocks, but it was a more gradual ascent.

The last 30-45 minutes of climbing was absolutely brutal. It was like climbing a ladder on rocks all the way to the peak. The rocks were completely vertical and I was on my hands and knees for the last quarter of the way up. It was challenging and I am so thankful there was a group of us so we could help each other find ways to get up the mountain.

IMG_8027
I was below Kyle looking up at him to take the picture…just to give you an idea of how steep and rocky the trail is
IMG_8047
My friend Katie climbing up the side of a rock like a ladder

It is exhilarating to climb and get to the summit of one of the biggest mountains in NYS. The views were breathtaking. Something else that’s cool about Wright is there are pieces of plane on the summit from a plane crash in 1962. Of course my phone died before I could get pictures of that, but it’s pretty neat to search the summit for the pieces.

IMG_8053 IMG_8042 IMG_8041 IMG_8028 IMG_8033

We got really lucky on the day we climbed because Wright is supposed to be really windy at the top, but there was hardly any wind. The temperature dropped about 20 degrees and mixed with our sweaty selves we were pretty cold up top in the middle of the summer, but we know enough to bring zip ups for the top.

Something else that’s cool about hiking Wright is there is a waterfall about 1-2 miles in. A lot of people stop to take pictures and dunk their heads in the cool water!

IMG_8022

Most people also hike Algonquin and Iroquois since the mountains are so close together, but there was 6 of us and we wanted to get back into Lake Placid to hang out for the day.

IMG_8060

IMG_8048

Again, the hike was not easy by any means…it was extremely challenging at the end, but the beginning of the trail was definitely doable. It took us 5.5 hours round trip and that was with stops along the way and hanging out at the summit for 30-45 minutes AND we burned over 2500 calories!! Awesome work out! I’d hike any day rather than go to the gym!

Leave a Reply

